Cover of: Edith Wharton chronology | Edgar F. Harden Read Online

Edith Wharton chronology by Edgar F. Harden

  • 996 Want to read
  • ·
  • 0 Currently reading

Published by Palgrave Macmillan in Houndmills, Baskingstoke, Hampshire, New York .
Written in English


  • Wharton, Edith, 1862-1937 -- Chronology,
  • Authors, American -- 20th century -- Chronology

Book details:

Edition Notes

Includes bibliographical references and index.

StatementEdgar F. Harden.
SeriesAuthor chronologies, Author chronologies (Palgrave Macmillan (Firm))
LC ClassificationsPS3545.H16 Z662 2005
The Physical Object
Paginationp. cm.
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL3427255M
ISBN 101403995834
LC Control Number2005051383

Download Edith Wharton chronology


: An Edith Wharton Chronology (Author Chronologies Series) (): Harden, E.: BooksAuthor: Edgar F. Harden. This new volume in the Author Chronology series illuminates the writing of Edith Wharton by detailing her experiences and placing her in her social context. Edith Wharton (born Edith Newbold Jones; Janu - Aug ) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning American novelist, short story writer, and designer. She was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in , and One of America's most important novelists, Edith Wharton was a refined, relentless chronicler of the Gilded Age and its social mores. Along with close friend Henry James, she helped define literature at the turn of the 20th century, even as she wrote classic nonfiction on travel, decorating and her own life.

  Edith’s first publication as a fiction writer was the short story “Mrs. Manstey’s View” which Scribner’s published in During that decade, Wharton traveled repeatedly to Italy and studied Renaissance art, in addition to decorating a new home in Newport with the help of .   Edith Wharton had come to have a great hand with all kinds of American furnishings and with their concomitant landscape-gardening. Her first book had . Born Edith Newbold Jones, to a wealthy New York family, Edith combined her insights into the privileged classes with her natural wit to write books and short fiction notable for their humor and incisiveness. In , a she married Edward (Teddy) Robbins Wharton, who was twelve years her senior. They were divorced in An Edith Wharton Chronology (includes more exact dates of publication) Edith Wharton's stories with original dates of publication Information adapted from Shari Benstock, “Chronology of Works by Edith Wharton” in No Gifts from Chance, pp.

Get this from a library! An Edith Wharton chronology. [Edgar F Harden] -- "This new volume in the Author Chronologies series offers an intense articulation of Edith Wharton's biographical experiences, which are presented amid the detailed unfolding of her imaginative. Edith Wharton’s books Edith Wharton Average rating: , ratings 25, reviews 1, distinct works • Similar authors/5. The Buccaneers is the last novel written by Edith Wharton. The novel is set in the s, around the time Edith Wharton was a young girl. It was unfinished at the time of her death in , and published in that form in Wharton's manuscript ends with Lizzy inviting Nan to a house party to which Guy Thwarte has also been invited. Edith Wharton was a Pulitzer Prize-winning American novelist, short story writer, and designer. She was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in , and Wharton combined her insider's view of America's privileged classes with a brilliant, natural wit to write humorous, incisive novels and short stories of social and /5(59).